Day Five: St. Ignace to Manistique

June 24, 2016

We said goodbye to our wonderful hotel on the lake with its lovely sunrises.

 

We headed west toward Manistique, but a few more stops along the way.

Palms Book State Park was Stan’s favorite part of the trip. It has a natural spring called Kitch-iti-kipi. You take a “raft” or wooden ferry on a cable across so you can see the spring bubbling up in the center. There were large fish in the lake, but I don’t think we were able to capture any of them in photos. I know there’s a lot of pictures of this, but just look at those colors! You have t see this place.

Drove down to the Garden Peninsula. We never thought agriculture would be a thing in the UP, but here is where it is. Visited a ghost town where iron ore was smelted in the 1800s. Fayette Historic State Park absolutely wore me out walking around in the mid-day sun. I should have known better; that did me in for the rest of the day, and most of the next. I could’ve had a sunstroke. Yikes.

Spent the night at Quality Inn in Manistique, which at one point used to have a great view of Lake Michigan across the street, but the pines have grown to hide it. It’s pretty much that way for all the hotels around that area, unless you’re willing to try a one-story mom and pop old school motel down the highway. But you get used to a certain comfort and cleanliness level and it’s hard to go back to earlier times, if you know what I mean.

For dinner we ate at Big Boy. I can’t believe this restaurant still exists! Sorry, it was the only thing I could find that wasn’t pub grub tourist pizza junk. I don’t think Tony would approve. The food was fine, (I had a BLT, Stan had a salad bar), but nothing special. The waitresses’ uniform was skirt with knee socks. Odd. But the music was particularly horrid.  A strange blend of poppy 70s, 80s and contemporary awfulness. The decor was like the tunes.

image
Big Boy in Manistique

I used to think it would be great to stay in Manistique or Escanaba in a motel on the lake. After this trip, I think St. Ignace has them beat by a landslide, hands down, on all fronts…lodging and food.

Leave a Reply

